Fotografiska, from Stockholm to NY

Fotorafiska New York

Since last December NY has a new art hub, you will find creative input and much more.

Fotografiska has become a global name synonymous with contemporary photography, originally found in 2010 in Stockholm. Their exhibition history and presentation of photography is strong and unparalleled, and includes over 170 exhibitions to date, such as David LaChapelle, Annie Leibovitz, Albert Watson, Sally Mann, Cooper & Gorfer, Ren Hang, and Christian Tagliavini.

Picture: © Adrian Gaut

This cultural venue integrates art; food; and social engagement to encourage creativity .

Since their Stockholm opening in 2010, Fotografiska has established itself as a haven of innovation and free expression. Guided by the brand pillars of inclusion, inspiration, innovation, sustainability and relevance.

This historic landmark building was constructed originally as the Church Missions House in 1894 and has been transformed by award-winning architecture and interior design firm CetraRuddy who is leading the design and renovation of the building, with a view to bring life to Fotografiska’s core value of inspiring a more conscious world.

Fotorafiska New York. Picture: © Adrian Gaut

The design studio Roman and Williams will conceive the interior concept for the second-floor restaurant.


Fotorafiska New York. The Bar. Picture: © Adrian Gaut

Technology consultancy Linq will be developing a tech-enhanced, multi-sensory journey for visitors to experience throughout the space. Higgins Quasebarth & Partners are consulting on the preservation and restoration elements of the historic property, such as the stained-glass windows on the second floor and the intricate limestone and granite façade.

When visiting and exploring the museum you will agree, that the architecture and design environment captures not only the spirit of Fotografiska but very strongly the character of New York City.

Restaurant at the Fotorafiska New York. Picture: © Adrian Gaut


Current exhibitions of:

Tawny Chatmon
Helene Schmitz
Adi Nes
Anastasia Tayllor- Lind
Ellen von Unwerth